In about a month and a half, I’m going to be unemployed. Go me! As horrible as that sounds, I’m rather excited that I might have some time off to travel. My dad mentioned that he was going to go to Taiwan for Duan Wu Jie, or the Dragon Boat Festival and invited me to join him. So here’s the dilemma…

Reasons to take a trip with your father:

  1. Bonding Time: To tell you the truth, I don’t know my dad the way his friends do. I only know him as “DAD”. So I’m kind of curious about getting to know him. I wonder if we’ll have conversations outside of: “What are you doing with your life?” and “When are you going to get married?”. That might be asking too much.
  2. Local Guide: Our family’s been in the States for over 30 years, but my dad goes back to Taiwan multiple times year. If I go with him, he can show me the local sights as well tell me a little about family history that would be lost once he … you know… stops going back to Taiwan!
  3. EATS: My dad and I are BIG foodies. I even can’t imagine the gluttony that’ll ensue.

Reasons not to go with my Dad:

  1. Nightlife: seriously? Nightlife with my dad? hmmmm…
  2. Mah-jong with my grandma: Do i need to explain how painful hours upon hours of mah-jong can be?
  3. 7 days of bonding time. Need I say more?

What would you do?

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: post to facebook :: Google
