I can’t tell you how much I LOVE New York City. I’m definitely an big urban metropolitan kind of girl and I love the energy and constant hustle and bustle of the city. Surprisingly, I haven’t written much about it though.

Here are some of my favorite things to do when I’m in NYC.

izakaya(Image source)

1. EATS!!! I live in DC now and the food here is HORRENDOUS! Everytime I’m in NYC, everything on my list usually consists of where I want to eat. Since the food scene is constantly changing in NYC, I’d recommend visiting the New York Time’s Dining & Wine Section.

  • Izakaya: I definitely always try to go to an Izakaya, or Japanese gastropub. Some good places to try out: Hagi and Village Yokocho. It’s cheap, lively, and you’re certain to warm up with some warm sake or cold beer.
  • NYC Classics: Of course, you can’t go wrong with Grey’s Papaya, Katz Deli, Junior’s for Cheesecake, or Grimaldi’s Pizza.
  • Splurges and Intersting: Check out WD-50, which is part of the molecular gastronomy movement. Tasty? Not sure, but strange and different? Yes. You can also check out Peter Luger‘s for a great NY Steak.

spring1600

(image source)

2. Broadway Shows: Hey, show prices aren’t that cheap! And to tell you the truth, after all the museum entrance fees and all the tasty restaurants, it’s not always in my budget to buy a full-priced museum ticket. So… I never do! TKTS is a great place to get day-of Broadway show tickets for 50% off. I once got floor tickets to the Tony-Award Winning Spring Awakening for a mere $60. Considering they were priced at $120, I’d say it was a good deal. They have three locations in Times Square, Brooklyn, and South Street.

moma

(image source)

3. Museums: I’m a huge sucker for museums! The MoMA (The Museum of Modern Art) holds an amazing collection of modern art, including Jasper Johns, Jackson Pollack, and Joan Miro. For a modern art nerd like me, it’s like visiting heaven! I’ve also visited the New Museum, which I’ll admit that I really wasn’t a fan of their collection. However, the building itself is worth the visit. Of course there’s also the Guggenheim and the Brooklyn Museum, which I will visit this weekend. Check out NY.com‘s listing of all the free museums. For a complete listing of all of NYC’s Museums.

4. Neighborhood Exploring: I’m also a big fan of simply walking around the different neighborhoods and exploring the little shops, streets, and people watching. AND don’t forget… Central Park is a MUST VISIT. It’s a gorgeous place!

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: post to facebook :: Google
