Originally, the whole reason why I wanted to go to Macau was because I had a Portuguese-style egg tart in Hong Kong once and I was HOOKED. After lots of research, I finally got to try out a lot of different Portuguese, Macanese, and Chinese food that’s unique to Macau.

Macau’s tasty tasty tasty food:

macau-egg-tart1

1. Margaret’s Cafe e Nata: Hands down the BEST THING I ate in all my travels in 2008. The place is pretty hard to find, but it’s completely worth looking for it. The egg tarts are served fresh and warm with a mouth watering egg custard in a really light flaky crust.  I loved this place so much  I went back twice and had a total of 6 egg tarts to myself. SO GOOD. Behind the Gum Loi Building. Rua Alm. Costal Cabral (Along Avenida D. Joao IV and near the Sinatra Hotel)

macau-litoral

2. Litoral: This Macanese/Portuguese restaurant came highly recommended by a local. After I couldn’t get a reservation at A Lorcha (which I hear is the best in Macau), I opted for Litoral. To tell you the truth, the food is completely forgetable. The service was horrible and the food was just meh. We had Paella, shrimp soup, and lamb. I almost wished I just ate more egg tarts.  261A Rua do Almirante Sergio

macau-crab-porriage

3. Seng Cheong Crab Porriage: Another place that came highly recommended. Located in Taipa, we had to take a cab out here and spent the rest of the day exploring Taipa after lunch.  Luckily we got there before the restaurant opened, b/c the line was incredibly long! We got the house specialties: crab porriage, eel, and prawns. Unfortunately, I also discovered that I don’t like eel cooked Chinese style.  So needless to say, I only really like the crab porriage.  Worth the trip? Sure. I’d take this place over Litoral any day.  28-30 Rua da Cunha, Taipa Island

img_3051_resize4. Tai Lei Loi Kei: Also located in Taipa, this VERY no frills outdoor cafe is known for their Pork Chop w/ Pineapple Buns. They start serving this Macanese snack at 3pm and by 4:30 (when we got there), they were sold out. Unfortunately for us, we only got the pork chop with toast. It was still tasty!  Largo Governador Tamagnini Barbosa 18 Taipa (near the Cunha bus station)

img_2894_resizeThis is another porkchop bun that I got at a small bakery.

Additional Reading and Resources:

Macau Food (Part 1): Taipa- Lazy Bone Blog

Where to Eat in Macau- World Foodie Guide Blog

Macau Food, Restuarant and Dining- Ola Macau Guide

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: post to facebook :: Google
