3

On our way back from SF to LA (post on that soon), the BF and I decided to make a quick one day trip to Sequoia National Park. We’ve always wanted to go and it was such a beautiful day for hiking. Unfortunately for us, we left a little too late and only had time to hike a short trail. So, we picked Moro Rock, which is an easy and windy 2 mile hike (from Generals Highway) through giant sequoia trees and to the top of a mountain for a 360 view of the park.

18

(on the trail to Moro Rock)

11(view from the top of Moro Rock)

I really wish we had more time to see other stuff, but I’m sure we’ll be visiting Sequoia again. Next time, here are some other things I’d like to do:

crystalcavepic1(source)

1. Crystal Cave: This was the first thing we wanted to do, but by the time we got there it was sold out. So go early in the day to buy tickets! You can only get tickets at Foothills or Lodgepole Visitor Center.  It’s a 45 minute tour through different rooms in the cave. Adults are $11, children are $6.

zumwalt415(source)

2. Cedar Grove Day Hike: One of the most popular trees here is General Grant’s Tree. From the Visitor’s center it’s about a 1 mile hike. Fairly easy for new hikers. The hike ends at General Grant’s Tree which is one of the largest living trees.

3. Mineral King Valley: Monarch Lakes and Crystal Lakes are both approximately a 4 mile hike.  These look a lot flatter than mountain hikes, but the views must be incredible between two mountains.

14(It’s a good thing the BF loves it too…)

On a side note: It’s bizarre to me how much I really love hiking. I was commenting to my friends the other day how one day you wake up and you realize…. I’m not hungover… what is this crazy feeling… how come my head isn’t in the toilet… why am I getting up at 7am to trek up a mountain? Oh my god. I’m old and I’d rather hike than get blasted at a bar.

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: post to facebook :: Google
